Environment
Last updated
An environment is a logical grouping of cloud architectures that are supposed to have the same criticality or serve the same purpose. Like dev, staging, QA, prodβ¦
Environments can be used to separate and isolate development, staging, and production resources, or to create dedicated environments for different teams or applications.
Brainboard environments provide a flexible and powerful way to manage your cloud infrastructure. It is like a folder; you can put any logic that reflects your processes.
You can define or create a new environment in the following two ways:
While creating a new project
While editing a new project
Multiple new environments can be defined at a time.
The following environments are already predefined in Brainboard for you to select from when creating a new project or assigning an environment to a project in project edit mode.
Production
Staging
Test
QA
Sandbox
UAT

To define a new environment at the time of new project creation, either go to Settings > Projects or simply click Projects in the left menu.
Click the Create project button.
Type in the new environment name that you want to create in the Environments field.

Project environments are scoped to the individual project in which they are created. As a result, an environment defined for one project cannot be shared across multiple projects.
To define a new environment at the time of editing a project, click Settings in the left menu.
Then click Projects.
Click the ellipses icon (three dots) next to the project you want to define a new environment for.
Select Edit project details from the dropdown list.
Type in the new environment name that you want to create in the Environments field.

To delete an environment other than the predefined environments, simply open the project in edit mode and click the cross icon (x) on the environment name that you want to delete.
Pre-defined environments cannot be deleted.

Deleting an environment will delete all architectures inside it. This action cannot be undone.
Therefore, you will be prompted with a confirmation message if there is an architecture associated with the environment you wish to delete.
Refer to the Architecture Synchronization to know more about it.
By following these steps, you can effectively manage multiple environments in Brainboard and ensure that your infrastructure is consistent and reliable across all stages. This is the best way to eliminate the drift between different environments.
Last updated